homepopla.blogg.se

How to stop a cue in qlab
How to stop a cue in qlab










PLEASE NOTE: Qlab refers to all visual playback as “video,” regardless if it is a still image or an actual video file. Drag and drop also works to create these.

how to stop a cue in qlab

Video Playback (film strip) – This is just like the Audio Playback cue, only for a video cue. (Though, as I write this, I can imagine using it during a live Skype call with an audience…I’ve had to hack together plenty of events like that…) So…yeah…so far, completely useless to me in the live environment. But only ones that are directly connected to the computer. Mic (mic) – an intriguing feature that lets you control microphones. Same thing happens if you drag and drop an audio file into the Cuelist. Over the course of the next few months, we are going to cover three of the four kinds of groups – normal groups that really just organize, “play all” groups that fire everything inside of the group simultaneously, and random groups, which will play only one item inside of that group, chosen at random (not nearly as useless as it sounds 🙂Īudio Playback (speaker) – This creates a cue that will playback an audio file. Group (squares icon) – Think of it sort of like a folder – you can group events together, and manipulate them together. Now, what about all of those icons along the top? Well, many are self explanitory, and I’ll go through the ones I am slated to cover the most in the next few tutorials. Edit is what you build your show in, and clicking on Show will basically clean up your workspace, leaving you just with the icons and fields that you need. That’s a deep, deep dive, and we won’t hit that just yet.Īt the very bottom left, there are two buttons labeled “Edit” and “Show”. The other puts you into the show preferences. Command+I will show and hide this area.Īt the very bottom right, there are two buttons – one shows and hides the Cuelist/Time Remaining tabs. This is where you can get to the details of an element in your design. Most applications have an area like this. I only use the time remaining view, because that is much more valuable information to me.Īlong the bottom is a large, changing space called the Inspector.

how to stop a cue in qlab

It can toggle between elapsed time and time remaining. The other tab is what I leave showing during my run/rehearsal – it shows running times of your Active Cues. To the right are two tabs – one displays your different Cue Lists (oh yes, you can have more than one!). It happens sequentially, one thing after another. The first is the Cue List – everything that you program goes here. Jumping down past all of the icons, there are three areas. Hitting it twice stops everything immediately.) (Hitting Escape once will fade everything out in a time that you can set in Settings default is 3 seconds. Honestly, while in tech rehearsals I only use the Pause button, and the Escape key on the keyboard – which is called the Panic Button – to stop all currently running cues and media. To the right are a bunch of familiar-looking controls. Obviously, the big “GO” button is what fires a cue. Open up the program, and you are greeted with the following interface:

how to stop a cue in qlab

#How to stop a cue in qlab install

(I’ve seen version 1, and have it on one of our older machines here at NVCC…I don’t even think you can get it to install anymore, so we are completely ignoring that one. Switching versions in the middle of the season doesn’t seem like the smartest move at the moment! However, much of what I will be covering will extend ahead to version 4, as well as back to version 2.

how to stop a cue in qlab

While this is documented in many places elsewhere, a brief run-through of the QLab interface feels required prior to launching into the years-worth of tutorials that I have been writing.Īt the time of this writing, I have not switched to version 4, which came out only a couple of months ago. My goal as an educator and advisor is to help them grow their critical thinking skills, so that they are empowered to make decisions and be stakeholders in the production. Even if it isn’t totally necessary upon first look, it provides for me a unified user interface as I cut across from city to city designing and running different shows and in different departments (lighting, sound, video).Īs a designer in the college space, I make sure that my students become well-versed in this multi-tool of an application. I use QLab for almost all of the live shows I work on these days. QLab is for more than just playing back audio and video files – and easy to use.










How to stop a cue in qlab